Monthly Archives: January, 2019

Date: 2019.01.28 | Category: Forum Club Handball | Response: 0

The 20th General Assembly of FORUM CLUB HANDBALL took place on the fringes of the IHF World Championship 2019 in Hamburg on 26th January 2019.

As a guest IHF President Dr. Hassan Moustafa welcomed the representatives from 45 European top clubs from 22 countries. He congratulated Germany for the good organization of the tournament and Denmark/Norway which played the best handball and deserved to be in the final on Sunday. The President put emphasis on the global situation in handball and underlined the important role of China and USA as developing handball markets. He asked the FCH member clubs to support the according IHF activities.

The FCH members clubs welcomed the organization of the World Championship, but criticized the playing schedule. Many times various teams had to play two matches in two days or 3 matches in four days. The IHF President took note of the concerns of the clubs and promised to take care of this question.

EHF Vice-President Predrag Boskovic also welcomed the club representatives. He underlined the good cooperation between clubs and EHF and the developing implementation of club representatives into the various bodies of EHF.

Having listened to the various reports, the participants elected David Barrufet as new Board member FCH from Spain, replacing Xavier O’Callaghan (both FC Barcelona). Gregor Planteu/Celje was elected President, Peter Leutwyler as Vice-President FCH. As a consequence, the list of the various new FCH office holders reads as follows:

FCH President:

Old: Xavier O’Callaghan

New: Gregor Planteu/Celje

FCH Vice-Presidents:

Old: Dierk Schmäschke + Gregor Planteu

New: Dierk Schmäschke/Flensburg + Peter Leutwyler/Kadetten

FCH Board members:

Old: O‘Callaghan, Schmäschke, Planteu, Szabo, Leutwyler

New: David Baruffet/FC Barcelona, Schmäschke, Planteu, Szabo, Leutwyler

FCH Deputy Board members (no changes):

Teo Storm, Pep Blanchart, Robert Molines, Davor Stojanoski, Stathis Papachartofilis

EHF PHB representatives:

Old: O’Callaghan/Butzeck

New: Planteu/Butzeck

EHF Competitions Commission (no changes).

Emeric Paillasson/Saint Raphael Var

EHFM Steering Committee:

New: Gregor Planteu

EHFM Advisory Board members:

Old: O’Callaghan/Butzeck

New: Leutwyler/Butzeck

EHFM Men’s Club Board members

Old: O’Callaghan, Storm, Martini

New: Szabo/Veszprem, Storm/Kiel, Martini/Paris

EHFM Comptroller:

Old: Peter Leutwyler

New: Gerd Hofele/Göppingen

EHFM Working Group development:

Pep Blanchart/Granollers

Karl Lofmark/Lugi Lund

Magnus Clarke/Dublin

Raul Srugo/Maccabi Rishon Le Zion

The newly elected President underlined the importance of the upcoming months, as the split of the revenues as of season 20/21 has to be agreed between men’s and women’s clubs on the one side, and between new Champions League, European Handball League and new EHF-Cup on the other side.

At the end of the General Assembly the participants elected Xavier O’Callaghan as ‘Honorary President FCH’.

Date: 2019.01.16 | Category: Uncategorized | Response: 0

FC Barcelona nominated the former International David Barrufet (280 times representing Spain) to replace Xavier O’Callaghan as Board member FCH. O’Callaghan served as FCH Board member from the very beginning of the Organisation. End of last year he was promoted as FC Barcelona representative for USA. Therefore he had to resign from his position as President and Board member FCH.

David Barrufet is a 7-times Champions League winner and one of the most famous Spanish players of all times.